Ten Top 20 Players of Race to Dubai at Soudal Open

In less than a week, the second edition of the Soudal Open will kick off. The list of participants is almost complete. From 11 to 14 May, no fewer than ten players from the top 20 of the Race to Dubai rankings will attend Rinkven Golf Club in Schilde in addition to home players Nicolas Colsaerts and Thomas Detry.

Belgium’s top players Thomas Detry and Nicolas Colsaerts are undoubtedly the big draw at the Soudal Open. Earlier, the tournament was already able to announce the participation of international golf stars such as Thomas Bjorn, Edoardo Molinari, Alexander Levy, Marcel Siem and Yannik Paul. They are now joined by Dane Thorbjorn Olesen, Finn Sami Valimaki and Spaniard Jorge Campillo. They are ranked 7th, 8th, and 9th respectively in the Race to Dubai rankings. Together, they account for 11 victories in the DP World Tour.

A total of 10 players from the top 20 will be at the start of the Race to Dubai: Thorbjorn Olesen (7), Sami Valimaki (8), Jorge Campillo (9), Yannik Paul (11), Marcel Siem (13), Julien Bun (15), Daniel Gavins (16), Zander Lombard (17), Alexander Bjork (19), and Dan Bradbury (20). The Race to Dubai will determine the DP World Tour rankings, the top 50 of which will compete in the Dubai World Championship at the end of the season.

The tournament format of the Soudal Open is the same as last year: 156 players play on Thursday and Friday, and the 65 best-ranked will advance to the final rounds on Saturday and Sunday.